The Loner : Part 1.

loner

 

While most of us, including myself, were busy playing hide and seek in the park, I couldn’t help but notice her, again, staring at all of us.

There she was, probably the same age as myself, sitting all alone by the window, her knees folded and her arms holding it tightly together. Her hair was neatly combed into a ponytail, but her eyes looked… sad. Unhappy. Frustrated. Nobody knew who she was. Rather, nobody wished to. They said her parents were the nicest people in the neighborhood, and yet no one seemed to understand why she wouldn’t socialize.

And just like everyday, at exactly five in the evening, her mother would take her away, forcefully – as it seemed. Nobody would see her again until the next afternoon. As baffled as I was, I thought it best to keep playing and ignore that girl. However, it seemed almost next to impossible. This was probably because I had been in her place once? It all seemed to come back to me.

I used to sit by the window, too, simply glaring at the kids frolicking around, when I guess I was eight. I was a loner, as they say it. A Loner is defined as one who “prefers” not to associate with others. The “prefers” over there makes a huge impact on its meaning as a whole. It means you are one by choice. Somewhere deep down inside, in this case, we have insecurities. Insecurities regarding opening up to people, and basically having problems trusting people. It is usually a result of being cheated or emotionally broken in the past, or watching it happen to someone close. However, for me, I was shy. But that was until I found my best friend, who told me that insecurities are a hindrance to happiness. Every word was true, and the meaning was deep and made sense when I thought about it.

When I went back home the same day, I couldn’t stop thinking about the girl’s condition, and as they say, curiosity killed the cat. The very next day, I went over to her place, and her parents welcomed me in warmly. They led me into her room and by the look on their faces, it was obvious that they were puzzled as to how I was even reaching out to their daughter.

She was taken aback when I greeted her with a ‘hello’ and was definitely uncomfortable. However, I looked around and said –

“What loneliness is more lonely than distrust?”

To be continued …

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

